National Museums and Monuments of Zimbabwe

107 Rotten Row Penrose Hill Building Causeway Harare Zimbabwe



The National Museums and Monuments of Zimbabwe (NMMZ ) is Zimbabwe’s premier heritage organization established under an Act of Parliament; The National Museums and Monuments of Rhodesia Act (1972) which is now called the National Museums and Monuments Act (Chapter 25:11). NMMZ is a Parastatal, funded through grant by Central Government and falling under the Ministry of Home Affairs. The Act established a Board of Trustees to provide for the establishment and administration of museums’ and to provide for the preservation of ancient, historical and natural monuments, relics and other objects of historical or scientific value or interest

It is a requirement of the Act that the Board of Trustees meet three times every year and this takes place both at Regional level with the Trustees from that particular Region and at national level with all Trustees. National management forums are held three times a year before the Board of Trustees meet. The Board of Trustees reports to the Minister of Home Affairs.

The management of the organization is undertaken by the Executive Director and Deputy Executive Director who report to the Board of Trustees. Six national managers are based at the national administrative headquarters, namely Finance, Audit, Security, Public Relations, Human Resources and Research and Development.

Visited 2719 times, 1 Visit today

Posted in Museums in Zimbabwe

Related Listings